TWO EXHIBITIONS NOW ON VIEW

Community Screening & Panel Discussion

Restorative Futures
Virtual
Schedule (Pacific)
Thursday
December 8, 2022
4:00 pm
6:00 pm

Free

Not a member? Join now

About

Black Public Media and Museum of the African Diaspora in collaboration with the Smithsonian's National Museum of African Art present Restorative Futures

Join us December 8th for Restorative Futures, a two part event about the movement of African art restitution and its global impact on the African diaspora at large. We begin at 4 pm PT / 7 pm ET with a community screening of Restitution? Africa’s Fight For its Art (dir. Nora Philippe), followed by a panel discussion with Ngaire Blankenberg, Director of the Smithsonian's National Museum of African Art, and Mayowa Tomori, a multimedia artist and creative technologist. With the thesis statement, “art feeds the creative soul of a country,” we seek to explore how art restoration is a regenerative process and how we can decolonize public access to cultural texts. The conversation will be moderated by Natasha Becker, Curator of African Art at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco.

Then, reunite with us on Sunday, December 11, at 12 PM PT/3PM ET, at our monthly African Diaspora Film Club, where Film Club curator, Cornelius Moore, will host a virtual conversation with Ms. Philippe about her film.

A group of youth and students in education smiling together

Become a MoAD member today!

Become a member